Board of Trustees & Governance

The Haverford Township Free Library is governed by a seven member Board of Trustees. Three Trustees are elected by the Haverford Township Free Library Association (A) and four are appointed by the Haverford Township Board of Commissioners (T).

The affairs of the library are under exclusive control of the Board of Trustees as follows: Responsibility for Legal Issues, Financial Oversight, Policy Making, Operating and Administrative Policy, Strategic Planning and Evaluation, and Advocacy.

The Haverford Township Free Library's Board of Trustees meet the third Wednesday of the month at 7:00 PM, excluding August.

Please refer to the following for more information:

Board of Trustees

Phil Goldsmith

President (T)

Margaret Fox-Tully

Vice President (A)

Debbie Cella

Treasurer (T)

Madeline O'Fria

Secretary (T)

Jim Brown

Board Member (T)

Alyce Callison

Board Member (A)

J. Scott Lowe

Board Member (A)

January Meeting

Wednesday, January 15, 2019

2020 Library Board of Trustees Meetings

Meetings are held on the 3rd Wednesday of each month @ 7pm (Except where indicated)

January 15, 2020

February 19, 2020

March 18, 2020

April 22, 2020

4th Wednesday of Apr due to Holidays

May 20, 2020

The Annual Library Association Meeting will begin at 7pm, followed by the Regular Monthly Board meeting.

June 17, 2020

July 15, 2020

August 19, 2020

If needed

September 16, 2020

October 21, 2020

November 18, 2020

December 16*,  2020


Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

Click on a year and then a month to see a downloadable PDF for the corresponding meeting minutes.




No August Meeting

March Meeting Cancelled - No Agenda




May | May Association Meeting




The Association

Plans for creating a public library in Haverford Township began in 1933. The citizens involved in the planning process were advised to incorporate the library as an Association which would allow for proper public input and oversight. Association members meet annually, on the third Wednesday in May, to elect three (3) of the library’s seven (7) Board of Trustee members (when terms are up for election). Becoming a member of the Association is one way to make your voice heard in the library. The annual meeting is also the time for Association members to hear about the health and welfare of the library and to exchange ideas with the Board and each other.

In order to join the Association you must:

  • Have a library card
  • Live in Haverford Township
  • Be 18 years old or older

To be eligible to vote at an Annual Meeting, membership must be submitted by the last day in February prior to the May meeting. You may download a PDF of the membership form by clicking here. Once you are a member, you do not have to renew from year to year (there are no dues to become a member). You are only asked to keep your contact information current.