CANCELED – Great Courses and Coffee


Event Details


The Great Courses- Heroes & Legends: The Most Influential Characters of Literature

This course considers a selection of the men and women who are at the heart of the “great tales.” Their history spans 3000 years. The characters and their books have given words to language such as “odyssey” and have powerfully affected political history. Many characters have become literally iconic.
Come hear their stories.

This 21-week series offers a screening of The Great Courses- Heroes & Legends: The Most Influential Characters of Literature by Professor Thomas A. Shippey of Saint Louis University. Every week we will view a different lecture followed by a discussion. Coffee will be served.

Topic Schedule:

Thursday, January 9 — Frodo Baggins
Thursday, January 16 — Odessyus
Thursday, January 23 — ‎Guinevere
Thursday, January 30 — Women of Bath

Thursday, February 6 — Beowulf
Thursday, February 13 — Thor
Thursday, February 20 — Robin Hood
Thursday, February 27 — Don Quixote

Thursday, March 5 — Elizabeth Bennet
Thursday, March 12 — Uncle Tom
Thursday, March 19 — Huckleberry Finn
Thursday, March 26 —  Sherlock Holmes

Thursday, April 2 — CLOSED for staff in-service
Thursday, April 9 — Dracula
Thursday, April 16 — Mowgli
Thursday, April 23 — Celie
Thursday, April 30 — Winston Smith

Thursday, May 7 — James Bond
Thursday, May 14 — Fairy-Tale Heroines
Thursday, May 21 — Lisbeth Salender
Thursday, May 28 — Harry Potter

Join us as we learn about these influential characters from Beowulf to James Bond and Huck Finn to Harry Potter.

No registration required.

Ages: Adult
Cost: Free
Contact: Amy at moskovitz@haverfordlibrary.org