Event Category: Book Groups

Both on going and one-time book related programs.

History Lovers! This book club is for you! Each season we select a book for our first meeting to read together that covers a theme or time period of history. For our second session, the group reads from a list of books on the same topic to delve further into the theme. The group will read The Black Count: Glory, Read More

Join us on the 4th Tuesday of each month for this adult book discussion that is open to all. A different contemporary adult fiction or non-fiction book will be discussed at each meeting. For September we will be discussing Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid.  You can sign up and get a copy of the book at the Reference Desk. Read More

This month we will be cooking from the food blog, Pinch of Yum.   Here is the web address:  https://pinchofyum.com/ Select a recipe from the food blog, prepare, and bring to share at our meeting at Hilltop Park! We will be meeting in person at Hilltop Park! (1400 Steel Road) Please bring a camp or lawn chair to sit in, plate Read More

This month’s meeting will be at the outdoor seating at The Crossbar (2225 Darby Rd, Havertown). Our book selection is A Burning by Megha Majumdar. Stop by the Reference Desk to pick up a copy of the book and then join us at The Crossbar! About A Burning: For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying Read More

Cookies and Mystery features cookies, coffee and discussion of a different mystery genre each third Thursday of the month at 11:00 am. Each month the group will read mysteries with a theme.  This group will meet virtually this month via Zoom. If you would like to participate via Zoom, please email Mary Bear Shannon at shannon@haverfordlibrary.org.

History Lovers! This book club is for you! Each season we select a book for our first meeting to read together that covers a theme or time period of history. For our second session, the group reads from a list of books on the same topic to delve further into the theme. The group will read The Black Count: Glory, Read More

Join us on the 4th Tuesday of each month for this adult book discussion that is open to all. A different contemporary adult fiction or non-fiction book will be discussed at each meeting. For September we will be discussing Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid.  You can sign up and get a copy of the book at the Reference Desk. Read More

Join us for an engaging discusson of Bill Bryson’s “The Body: A Guide for Occupants.” This meeting will take place via Zoom. For the link, please contact reference@haverfordlibrary.org. Copies of the book are currently available for checkout at the Reference Desk. Get your copy today! About “The Body”: Bill Bryson once again proves himself to be an incomparable companion as Read More

Do you like graphic novels? Join our new Graphic Novel Discussion Group! Each month readers discuss alternative graphic novels tackling real-life issues and non-fiction subjects, and the independent publishers that release both alternative and mainstream superhero, sci-fi fantasy graphic novels and comics. Our first selection is “Seek You: A Journey Through American Loneliness” by Kristen Radtke. We will meet on Read More

Cookies and Mystery features cookies, coffee and discussion of a different mystery genre each third Thursday of the month at 11:00 am. Each month the group will read mysteries with a theme.  This group will meet virtually this month via Zoom. If you would like to participate via Zoom, please email Mary Bear Shannon at shannon@haverfordlibrary.org.